Welcome to chaotic book choosing! I have tried approximately 400 times to create reading plans, but I’ve finally come to terms with the fact that I’m an Extreme Mood Reader. I get distracted by new releases and backlist books and the ones they’re recommending on All the Books and the ones I accidentally step on because I forgot they were in a pile on the floor in my house. TBR planning doesn’t work for me! So instead of fighting it, lean in with me and choose your next read in a more chaotic way. We have some quizzes you can take if you want a specific recommendation right now, like what book to read next based on what tea you like, what book to read based off your ideal cozy day, or what book to read based on which queen you are on RuPaul’s Drag Race. But if you need more ideas or larger pools of books to pick from, here are some great ideas to get you started. Bonus chaos: choose a random number picker to select a number between 1 and 10: that number is now the task you will follow for choosing your next book!

How to Choose Your Next Book

If you want to move past the realm of average chaotic and into unhinged, there is one additional way you can select your next read. Shake your bookshelf really hard. Whichever book falls out first, read that one. It will probably hit your head on the way down. Be careful! (But also please don’t do this.)